To help us improve the DNN Sharp suite of tools (Modules, Add-ons and all other services), you can let your DNN instance send us information about:
- how you use our products
- how they are working for you (or not)
We will use this information to improve our products and services for everyone.
You can choose not to help us and disable sending usage and diagnostics information
The new option called Submit Usage Info has recently been added to the latest builds of Action Form 3.9, Search Boost 4.0, Action Grid 4.1, Sharp Scheduler 2.1, DNN API Endpoint 1.2 and My Tokens 2.6. When you install one of these new builds, you’ll notice an important notification in the License Agreement screen. This option is turned on by default and can be disabled at any time via the respective product management screen under general settings.
Note that this setting is global per product. So, for example, if you disable it from a contact form, it will be disabled for all forms that live on the current DNN instance. Once deactivated, the option will stay deactivated on future upgrades.
What information is shared with DNN Sharp and how it is used
If you turn on usage and diagnostics, your website sends information to DNN Sharp about what’s not working and additional info to help us identify the cause of the problem. For example, your website can send information like:
- DNN information:
- DNN version (and history - upgrade path) to help us identify if the error is a consequence of the upgrade or it happens on clean installs as well
- installed modules and versions in order to help us identify and offer solutions for possible compatibility issues
- site aliases, wrongfully configured aliases have led to multiple situations in which customers were not able to use the modules; it also helps us identify if the environment is built on a virtual path or not and if there is a correlation between error and alias (site with or without www and so on)
- errors generated by the products - this helps identify errors that are unique to users setups and which were never discovered in the QA phase on our testing environments
- licensing information
- product configuration that helps our automated testing system to determine which settings to test most; hopefully more bugs will be fixed right from testing phase preventing them to reach your environments.
None of this information that you share will disclose user data or other sensitive info and it will also never be shared with any 3rd party.